The Five Egyptian Martyrs
Seleccionar idioma español/Choisissez la langue français
Orthodox cross

The Five Egyptian Martyrs

On this day we celebrate the memory of the five Egyptian martyrs: Elias, Jeremiah, Isaiah, Samuel, and Daniel.

Elias, Jeremiah, Isaiah, Samuel, and Daniel lived in the sixth year of the persecution which Diocletian started against the Christians (290 AD). They were brought to martyrdom from various places, professions, and offices and they were united together in one body for Christ's faith. This is how they were arrested: when they were about to enter Caesaria (Caesarea), the guards of the gates asked them who they were and where they came from. The martyrs answered that they were Christians and that their country was heavenly Jerusalem. So, the officials arrested them and brought them to Firmilianus, the governor of Caesaria who had them executed.

Glory be to God forever, Amen.


Almighty God, you have surrounded us with a great cloud of witnesses: Grant that we, encouraged by the good example of your servants Elias, Jeremiah, Isaiah, Samuel, and Daniel may persevere in running the race that is set before us, until at last we may with them attain to your eternal joy; through Jesus Christ, the pioneer and perfecter of our faith, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.