Canada Day 1 July 1867

In 1864, in response to growing sentiment, representatives of Quebec, Ontario, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Prince Edward Island met in Charlottetown (PEI) to negotiate a federation of their provinces. On 1 July 1867 the British Parliament formally approved the agreement, and this day is observed as the National Day of Canada. Although the day is primarily a secular holiday, many churches hold services with appropriate prayers, such as the collect for today (Anglican Church of Canada, Alternative Services Book).

written by James Kiefer

List of links for
Canada Day